East Asia and Pacific // Events

28 february 2017

Russia and China Strengthen Bilateral Partnership through Expert Dialogue

On February 28, 2017, the Council for Strategic Interaction between Russia and China officially started its work. The Council is established in the framework of Chinese Academy of Social Studies (CASS). It will become a think tank of a new type and will promote the bilateral and multilateral discussion of Russia-China cooperation in the format of the second track events.

Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC) and the Institute of Far Eastern Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IFES RAS), CASS’s partner organizations took part in the Opening Ceremony.

Cai Fang, CASS Vice President, Jiang Yan, Deputy Director General of the Department for European-Central Asian Affairs of China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Andrey Denisov, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Russia to China, RIAC Member, Sergey Luzyanin, Director of IFES RAS, RIAC Member, Li Yongquan,Director of the CASS Institute of Russian, Eastern European and Central Asian Studies, delivered welcoming speeches.

On the day of the opening ceremony the Council hosted the first expert discussion devoted to the possible impact of the new U.S. Administration on the Russia-China relations.   Russia was represented by Sergey Luzyanin, Director of IFES RAS, RIAC Member, Vladimir Portyakov , Deputy Director of IFES RAS, and Liudmila Filippova, RIAC Program Manager for Asia Pacific. The leading experts of the CASS Institute of Russian, Eastern European and Central Asian Studies Li Yongquan, Liu Fenghua and Cheng Yizun took part in the discussion from the Chinese side. Xue Fuqi, Director of Programs of the newly established Council moderated the meeting. The participants noted the high level of the discussion and agreed that there are several scenarios for Russia–U.S. ties development under the new administration, though none of them could significantly affect further strengthening of the Russia–China strategic interaction.

On the sidelines of the event, members of the Russian delegation Sergey Luzyanin and Liudmila Filippova took part in the meeting with Rashid Alimov, Secretary General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO). Rashid Alimov pointed out that the SCO Secretariat has accumulated positive experience of cooperation with academic and analytical centres including RIAC and IFES RAS. Russian experts stated that both organizations will continue paying special attention to the regional security issues and SCO activities in this respect.

Russian delegation also visited the Institute for Social Development in Europe and Asia of the Development Research Centre of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China headed by Li Fenglin, former China’s Ambassador to Russia. Russian and Chinese experts exchanged opinions on a broad range of international relations issues and discussed prospects for further cooperation.

In addition, Russian delegation visited the CCTV-Russian TV Channel and gave detailed interviews and short comments on the EAEU–SREB co-development, construction of the bridge connecting Blagoveshchensk and Heihe, as well as Russia-China cooperation in sport.

On May 29–30, 2017, RIAC holds the Third International Conference “Russia and China: Taking on a New Quality of Bilateral Relations”. RIAC expects the event to become the next step in strengthening Russia-China dialogue and to provide necessary expert support for intergovernmental contacts.

The Council for Strategic Interaction between Russia and China officially started its work (7)

Rate this article:

  3 Comment
Tags:
For general editorial feedback contact editorial@russiancouncil.ru

Comments:


New comment

All tags

Д. Трамп собирается нарастить ядерный потенциал и выражает сомнения в пользе договора СНВ-III. Что делать России?

Результаты опроса
Архив опросов


Восточная Азия и АТР // Мероприятия

28 февраля 2017

Россия и Китай укрепляют двустороннее партнерство на основе экспертного диалога

28 февраля 2017 г. официально приступил к работе Совет по делам стратегического взаимодействия Китая и России, учрежденный в рамках Китайской академии общественных наук (КАОН). Совет станет экспертно-аналитическим центром нового типа и будет продвигать обсуждение вопросов российско-китайского сотрудничества в двустороннем и многосторонних форматах в рамках мероприятий «второй дорожки».

К участию в мероприятии по случаю открытия Совета были приглашены партнерские организации КАОН из России — Российский совет по международным делам (РСМД) и Институт Дальнего Востока РАН (ИДВ РАН).

С приветственным словом выступили вице-президент КАОН Цай Фан, заместитель директора департамента стран Европы и Центральной Азии МИД КНР Цзян Янь, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол России в КНР, член РСМД Андрей Денисов, директор ИДВ РАН, член РСМД Сергей Лузянин, директор Института России, Восточной Европы и Центральной Азии (ИРВЕЦА) КАОН Ли Юнцюань.

В день торжественного открытия Совета на его площадке состоялось первое экспертное обсуждение, посвященное возможному влиянию политики новой администрации США на развитие российско-китайских отношений. С российской стороны свое видение вопроса представили директор ИДВ РАН, член РСМД Сергей Лузянин, заместитель директора ИДВ РАН Владимир Портяков и программный менеджер РСМД по АТР Людмила Филиппова. С китайской стороны прозвучали выступления ведущих специалистов ИРВЕЦА КАОН: Ли Юнцюаня, Лю Фэнхуа и Чэн Ицзуня. Модератором выступил программный директор учрежденного Совета Сюэ Фуци. Участники обсуждения отметили высокий уровень дискуссии и сошлись во мнении, что с приходом новой администрации в США российско-американские отношения могут развиваться по нескольким сценариям, однако ни один из них не окажет серьезного влияния на дальнейшее укрепление российско-китайского стратегического взаимодействия.

На полях мероприятия члены российской делегации Сергей Лузянин и Людмила Филиппова приняли участие во встрече с генеральным секретарем Шанхайской организации сотрудничества (ШОС) Рашидом Алимовым. В ходе встречи Рашид Алимов подчеркнул, что у Секретариата ШОС сложился успешный опыт взаимодействия с научными экспертными организациями, в том числе РСМД и ИДВ РАН. Со своей стороны, члены российской делегации подчеркнули, что обе организации в своей аналитической работе продолжат уделять значительное внимание вопросам региональной безопасности и деятельности ШОС на этом направлении.

В дополнение к основным мероприятиям, состоялся визит российской делегации в Институт европейского и азиатского социального развития Центра по изучению проблем развития при Госсовете КНР, возглавляемый бывшим послом КНР в России Ли Фэнлинем. Российские и китайские эксперты обменялись мнениями по широкому набору актуальных вопросов международных отношений и обсудили возможности для дальнейшего сотрудничества.

Все члены российской делегации также посетили телеканал CCTV-Русская версия и дали развернутые интервью и короткие комментарии по вопросам сопряжения ЕАЭС и ЭПШП, хода строительства моста между Благовещенском и Хэйхэ, а также сотрудничества России и Китая в спортивной сфере.

29–30 мая 2017 г. состоится Третья международная конференция РСМД «Россия и Китай: к новому качеству двусторонних отношений». РСМД рассчитывает, что мероприятие станет следующим шагом в укреплении гуманитарного диалога России и Китая и окажет необходимую экспертную поддержку межправительственным контактам.

Приступил к работе Совет по делам стратегического взаимодействия Китая и России (7)

Оцените статью:

  3 Комментировать
Вы хотите стать автором РСМД или задать вопрос нашему редактору? Связь с редакцией РСМД - editorial@russiancouncil.ru

Комментарии:


Добавить комментарий

Все теги