Technology // Events

14 — 16 march 2017

RIAC at Global Cyberspace Cooperation Summit

  4

On March 14–16, 2017, Berkeley (U.S.A.) hosted VII Global Cyberspace Cooperation Summit organized by East West Institute. Global summit is the Institute's flagship event that has been held in various countries (the U.S.A., India, Germany, Great Britain) since 2010. Pavel Sharikov, RIAC expert, and Maria Smekalova, RIAC website editor, represented RIAC at the event. Maria Smekalova spoke at the "Insights from Young Leaders" plenary panel. RIAC and EWI are working on a joint Russia-U.S. cooperation in cyberspace project.

03 october 2016

“The Hacked World Order” – How Messed Up are We?

Maria Gurova Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations, RIAC Expert

  4

“The Hacked World Order” by Adam Segal, director of the program on digital and cyberspace policy at the Council on Foreign Relations, was published in the early 2016 and is one of the latest attempts to cover all the events in the cyber domain. This is an extremely ambitious task executed by one of the best professionals in the area. “The Hacked World Order” can be even seen as a contemporary history textbook of how cyberspace has evolved over the last decade or so.

16 may 2016

RIAC and EWI hold an international seminar “Russia-US Cyber Cooperation – Building New Relations”

  10

On May 16, 2016 the Russian International Affairs Council together with the EastWest Institute held an international seminar “Russia-US Cyber Cooperation – Building New Relations.” During the seminar, the participating experts discussed cooperation in countering cyber terrorism; indentifying terminology, critical for Russia and the United States in the field of cyber security; strengthening cooperative action and early warning of cyber attacks; the state’s role in the Internet development and the interaction of the Internet and business communities of the two countries.

12 april 2016

The Moon Was Shining, The Stars Were Bright…

Alexei Fenenko PhD in History, Leading research fellow at RAS Institute of International Security Problems, Associate Professor at School of world politics of MSU, RIAC expert

  1

The RAND report’s subtitle is particularly noteworthy: “Past Problems and Future Challenges”. It shows that the authors are trying to bridge the gap between past attempts at studying the militarization of space, the present situation, and modelling future problems. At first glance, the report appears to be a purely technical analysis of the United States’ current programmes to militarize space. In actual fact, however, it contains a layer of information that provokes further thought and reflection.

22 march 2016

The Web Data War Is On

Julien Nocetti Research Fellow at the French Institute of International Relations (IFRI)

  5

Apple, the world’s largest company by market capitalization and a pioneer of cutting-edge technology that we use every day, is in one corner. The United States, the world’s most powerful nation and the birthplace of the information society, which is also a society of total surveillance than envelops us all, is in the other. They have locked horns in a conflict that is set to have both global and local implications.

18 february 2016

RIAC’s Infographics Wins Digital Communication AWARDS - 2016

  1

RIAC’s infographics on Russian-German relations has won an award in Digital Communication AWARDS – 2016 special nomination. The infographics, prepared within the framework of RIAC and Körber Foundation joint initiative “German-Russian International Affairs Dialogue (GRID),” covers economic indicators of Russian-German relations in 2014-2015, and reveals the data on trade, mutual investment, tourism and academic exchange between the Russian Federation and Germany.

10 february 2016

Cyberspace: Can Real Players be Brought Together Virtually?

Elena Zinovieva PhD in Political Science, World Political Processes Department of the MGIMO University

  8

Each year Europe and the US celebrate a Safer Internet Day encouraging web literacy among their citizens, especially the young ones – children and students. However, recently international community has been trying to widen the cyber agenda and work more closely on managing cyber threats, securing personal data and overall international cyber cooperation. Further below you will find an Russian expert view on recent report featured by Carnegie Europe covering major issues of Transatlantic cyber cooperation and leadership.

09 february 2016

Safer Internet Day in Moscow

  3

On February 9, 2016 Moscow hosted an annual meeting of the Cyber Security Forum. The meeting was held in Digital October under the auspices of the Russian Association for Electronic Communications (RAEC) and the Regional Public Center of Internet-technologies (ROCIT) and support from the Russo-British Chamber of Commerce and the Franco-Russian Chamber of Commerce (CCIFR). The event was timed to Safer Internet Day and Safe Runet Week. The forum was attended by representatives of government agencies and businesses, as well as Russian and foreign experts.

27 october 2015

Better than a “Global Player”. Interview with Yandex Product Marketing Director

  16

In times of economic crisis many people emphasize the necessity of diversifying the Russian economy and stimulating the development of advanced technologies. Director of Product Marketing at Yandex Andrey Sebrant have discussed with RIAC international activities of the company, principles of working abroad and the research intensity of the Russian economy.

21 september 2015

Cradle of Surveillance

Maria Gurova Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations, RIAC Expert

  23

We live in a world that seems borderless and limitless. You can find almost anything you want with a short Google-search. Most of us do not believe that we are being watched. How do you feel about it? That your government can extract your personal information from your laptop, tablet, cellphone? Some would become fearful, anxious and paranoid. However, there are those who do not mind and tacitly support their state’s vision of national security. Nearly 5.5 million such people constitute a prosperous and advanced nation living in the city-state of Singapore.

All tags

Д. Трамп собирается нарастить ядерный потенциал и выражает сомнения в пользе договора СНВ-III. Что делать России?

Результаты опроса
Архив опросов


Технологии // События

14 — 16 марта 2017

РСМД на Саммите по кибербезопасности в США

  4

14–16 марта 2017 г. в Беркли (США) состоялся VII Глобальный саммит по сотрудничеству в киберпространстве, организованный Институтом Восток–Запад. Глобальный саммит — флагманское мероприятие Института, проводимое в разных странах (США, Индия, Германия, Великобритания) с 2010 г. РСМД на Глобальном саммите представили эксперт РСМД Павел Шариков и редактор сайта Мария Смекалова.

20 сентября 2016

В РСМД эксперты обсудили проблему угрозы кибератак на ядерные объекты

  2

20 сентября 2016 г. в РСМД состоялся семинар «"Военные Игры" возвращаются? Вопросы стратегической стабильности в российско-американских отношениях и киберугрозы в контексте ядерной безопасности» с участием доцента факультета международных отношений Университета Лестера Эндрю Фаттера.

16 мая 2016

РСМД и Институт Восток-Запад провели семинар «Россия и США в киберпространстве — новые отношения»

  10

16 мая 2016 года Российский совет по международным делам совместно с Институтом Восток-Запад (EastWest Institute) провели международный семинар «Россия и США в киберпространстве — новые отношения». В рамках семинара эксперты обсудили такие проблемы, как сотрудничество в вопросах противодействия кибертерроризму, определение критически важной терминологии для России и США в сфере кибербезопасности, укрепление мер сотрудничества и раннего предупреждения кибератак, роль государства в развитии Интернета и взаимосвязь Интернета и бизнес-сообществ двух стран.

26 апреля 2016

Михаил Федотов Председатель Совета при Президенте Российской Федерации по развитию гражданского общества и правам человека, член РСМД

«Это выброшенные на ветер деньги»

22 марта 2016

Война за интернет-данные началась

Жюльен Носетти Научный сотрудник Французского института международных отношений

  5

С одной стороны баррикад — Apple, самая крупная корпорация в мире по объёму капитализации, благодаря которой сформировались передовые технологии, которые мы используем каждый день. С другой стороны — США, наиболее влиятельная мировая держава, в которой зародилось информационное общество, одновременно являющееся и обществом массового шпионажа, в которое мы полностью погрузились.

18 февраля 2016

Инфографика РСМД отмечена премией «Digital Communication AWARDS – 2016»

  1

Инфографика РСМД по российско-германским отношениям отмечена специальной номинацией премии «Digital Communication AWARDS – 2016». Инфографика, подготовленная в рамках совместного проекта РСМД и Körber Foundation «Германо-российский международный диалог GRID», посвящена экономическим показателям отношений России и Германии в 2014–2015 гг. Представлены данные о товарообороте, взаимным инвестициям, туризму и академическим обменам РФ — ФРГ.

15 февраля 2016

Киберпространство — можно ли виртуально объединить реальных игроков?

Елена Зиновьева К.полит.н., кафедра мировых политических процессов МГИМО (У) МИД России, эксперт РСМД

  8

Ежегодно в феврале в Европе и США отмечают День безопасного Интернета, цель которого — продвижение грамотного использования ресурсами всемирной сети. Пока это событие направлено на повышение информационной грамотности среди молодежи, но международное сообщество стремится расширить повестку дня и включить в нее вопросы предотвращения киберугрозам, повышения защиты персональных данных и улучшения качества сотрудничества стран и негосударственных игроков в информационном пространстве. Представляем ответ на доклад Европейского Центра Карнеги, посвященный трансатлантическому сотрудничеству в области киберпространства.

09 февраля 2016

День безопасного Интернета в Москве

  3

9 февраля 2016 г. в Москве (Digital October) состоялся ежегодный Форум по информационной безопасности бизнеса и пользователей (Cyber Security Forum) под эгидой Российской ассоциации электронных коммуникаций (РАЭК) и Региональной общественной организации «Центр Интернет-технологий» (РОЦИТ) при поддержке Российско-британской торговой палаты и Франко-российской торгово-промышленной палаты. Мероприятие приурочено к Международному Дню безопасного Интернета (Safer Internet day) и неделе безопасного Рунета. На форуме присутствовали представители государственных ведомств и бизнеса, а также российские и зарубежные эксперты.

23 октября 2015

Лучше, чем «глобальный игрок». Интервью с директором по маркетингу сервисов «Яндекса»

  16

Во времена экономического кризиса многие говорят о необходимости диверсификации экономики России и стимулирования развития наукоемких технологий. Редактор рубрики «Свой взгляд» Мария Смекалова обсудила с Андреем Себрантом, директором по маркетингу сервисов «Яндекса», международное направление работы компании, принципы работы за рубежом и наукоемкость российской экономики.

22 сентября 2015

И у стен есть глаза — мир, где государство следит за гражданами

Мария Гурова Редактор сайта РСМД

  23

Кажется, что в современном мире нет информационных границ — Google дает возможность найти почти все, что пожелаешь. Многие не верят, что за ними постоянно следят. Как общество отреагирует, если узнает, что правительство может безнаказанно и без предупреждения извлечь личные данные из персональных ноутбуков, планшетов и мобильных устройств? Некоторые начнут нервничать, беспокоиться и даже впадать в панику. Однако есть и те, кто не возражает против этого и молча разделяет подходы государства к обеспечению национальной безопасности. Почти 5,5 миллионов таких граждан живут в Сингапуре, процветающем и высокоразвитом городе-государстве.

Все теги