Print
Rate this article
(votes: 1, rating: 3)
 (1 vote)
Share this article
Wolfgang Ischinger

Chairman of the Munich Security Conference

Igor Ivanov

President of the Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC), Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation (1998–2004)

Sam Nunn

Co-Chairman of the Nuclear Threat Initiative, Former Democratic US senator

Leon Ratz

Program Officer with the Nuclear Threat Initiative’s Materials Security and Minimization Program

Robert E. Berls, Jr.

Senior Advisor for Russia and Eurasia at the Nuclear Threat Initiative

Desmond Browne

Vice Chairman of the Nuclear Threat Initiative, Executive Board Member of the European Leadership Network, Former British Defense Secretary

International statesmen Des Browne, Wolfgang Ischinger, Igor Ivanov, and Sam Nunn call on Western and Russian leaders to take immediate steps to reduce the risk of a dangerous military confrontation. This report offers recommendations to avoid accidents, enhance predictability, and build confidence.

Russia and the West are at a dangerous crossroads. During the past several years, we have been in a state of escalating tension, trapped in a downward spiral of antagonism and distrust. With our militaries moving closer—in the skies over the Baltic Sea, in the depths of the North Atlantic, and across the Middle East—the risks of miscalculation or accident and escalation are unacceptably high. Unless Western and Russian leaders take immediate steps to improve transparency and enhance predictability, they may inadvertently risk a deadly confrontation.

This paper, which is based on a survey of leading defense and security experts from the United States, Russia, and Europe, puts forward nine urgent and practical recommendations to ensure that we avoid the worst kind of catastrophe: a nuclear incident involving NATO and Russian forces. The measures are focused on preventing accidents, enhancing predictability, and building confidence. These include recommendations to fly military aircraft with transponders turned on, to establish “safe distance” protocols for ships and aircraft, to demonstrate restraint in military exercises, and to improve transparency for deployments of both missile and missile defense systems.

Perhaps most importantly, this paper recommends that Western and Russian leaders initiate a dialogue focused on strategic stability and nuclear risk reduction. Dialogue should never be seen as a sign of weakness—it is essential for nuclear risk reduction to protect our citizens. Military-tomilitary discussions should be at the top of the list of near-term steps to reduce risk.

Even during the darkest days of the Cold War, we maintained robust channels of communication to prevent nuclear accidents, miscalculations, or nuclear escalation. Today, nearly all of these channels have eroded, and our political and military leaders seldom talk to one another. Simply put, it is national security malpractice that today we have virtually no dialogue among our capitals on reducing nuclear risks. This must change.

Absent engagement, nuclear risks will only continue to increase, endangering all of us. The time to act on our common security interests is now.

Foreword by Des Browne, Wolfgang Ischinger, Igor Ivanov, and Sam Nunn
Report by Robert E. Berls, Jr., and Leon Ratz.

NTI Report "Rising Nuclear Dangers: Steps to Reduce Risks in the Euro-Atlantic Region", 1 Мб


Rate this article
(votes: 1, rating: 3)
 (1 vote)
Share this article

Poll conducted

  1. Korean Peninsula Crisis Has no Military Solution. How Can It Be Solved?
    Demilitarization of the region based on Russia-China "Dual Freeze" proposal  
     36 (35%)
    Restoring multilateral negotiation process without any preliminary conditions  
     27 (26%)
    While the situation benefits Kim Jong-un's and Trump's domestic agenda, there will be no solution  
     22 (21%)
    Armed conflict still cannot be avoided  
     12 (12%)
    Stonger deterrence on behalf of the U.S. through modernization of military infrastructure in the region  
     4 (4%)
    Toughening economic sanctions against North Korea  
     2 (2%)
 
For business
For researchers
For students
2111111111113/activity/publications/rost-yadernoy-ugrozy-mery-po-sokrashcheniyu-riskov-v-evroatl/2111111111113

Распечатать Read in English
Оценить статью
(Голосов: 4, Рейтинг: 4.25)
 (4 голоса)
Поделиться статьей
Вольфганг Ишингер

Председатель «Мюнхенской конференции по вопросам безопасности»

Игорь Иванов

Президент РСМД, министр иностранных дел России (1998–2004 гг.), профессор МГИМО МИД России, член-корреспондент РАН, член РСМД

Сэм Нанн

Бывш. председатель Комитета по делам вооруженных сил Сената США, главный исп. директор NTI

Десмонд Браун

Председатель Совета директоров Европейского сообщества лидеров за многостороннее ядерное разоружение и нераспространение, пэр Палаты лордов Парламента Соединенного Королевства Великобритании и Ирландии, министр обороны Великобритании (2006-2008 г.)

Политические деятели мирового уровня Дес Браун, Вольфганг Ишингер, Игорь Иванов, Сэм Нанн призывают западных и российских лидеров предпринять немедленные шаги для сокращения риска военной конфронтации. В докладе сформулированы рекомендации по выработке мер, направленных на предотвращение инцидентов, повышение предсказуемости, укрепление доверия.

Россия и Запад находятся на опасном перепутье. В последние годы наблюдается постоянный рост напряженности. Спираль антагонизма и недоверия продолжает раскручиваться. Расстояние, разделяющее вооруженные силы обеих сторон, становится все меньше — и в небе над Балтийским морем, и на  просторах Северной Атлантики, и на Ближнем Востоке. Зато риски просчетов, случайных инцидентов и непреднамеренной эскалации становятся неприемлемо высокими. Западные и российские лидеры должны предпринять срочные меры для повышения прозрачности и предсказуемости в области безопасности. В противном случае они могут, сами того не желая, оказаться перед лицом полномасштабного конфликта.

В настоящем документе, основанном на опросе ведущих экспертов США, России и ЕC, сформулированы девять рекомендаций по неотложным и практическим мерам с целью избежать худшего варианта катастрофы - ядерного инцидента с участием вооруженных сил России и НАТО. Предлагаемые меры направлены на предотвращение инцидентов, повышение предсказуемости и укрепление доверия. Они включают осуществление полетов военных самолетов с включенными транспондерами, принятие протоколов «безопасных расстояний» для морских и воздушных судов, проявление сдержанности при проведении военных учений и повышение прозрачности при развертывании комплексов ракетного вооружения и систем противоракетной обороны.

Возможно, самым важным в этом документе является рекомендация западным и российским лидерам начать диалог по укреплению стратегической стабильности и минимизации рисков в ядерной сфере. Диалог никогда не следует рассматривать как признак слабости — он необходим для сокращения ядерных рисков, чтобы защитить наших граждан. В ближайшей перспективе приоритетными шагами в этом направлении должны стать переговоры между военными с обеих сторон.

Даже в самые напряженные периоды холодной войны мы поддерживали надежные каналы связи для снижения рисков ядерных инцидентов, ядерной эскалации и ошибочных решений. Сегодня почти все эти каналы разрушены, а наши политические и военные лидеры редко говорят друг с другом. Практически полное отсутствие диалога между нашими столицами по снижению ядерных рисков является губительной практикой. Подобную ситуацию необходимо изменить.

При отсутствии взаимодействия ядерные риски будут лишь нарастать, подвергая опасности всех нас. Пришло время действовать во имя наших общих интересов безопасности.

Авторы предисловия: Дес Браун, Вольфганг Ишингер, Игорь Иванов, Сэм Нанн.

Авторы доклада: Роберт Берлс, Леон Ратз.

Доклад NTI «Рост ядерной угрозы: меры по сокращению рисков в Евроатлантическом регионе», 1 Мб

Оценить статью
(Голосов: 4, Рейтинг: 4.25)
 (4 голоса)
Поделиться статьей

Прошедший опрос

  1. Какой исход выборов в Конгресс США, по вашему мнению, мог бы оказать положительное влияние на российско-американские отношения в краткосрочной перспективе?

    Ни один из возможных результатов не способен оказать однозначного влияния  
     181 (71%)
    Большинство республиканцев в обеих палатах  
     46 (18%)
    Большинство демократов в обеих палатах  
     27 (11%)
Бизнесу
Исследователям
Учащимся